D3TV Archives
    Latest News
    Daily Event Info
    Event Pre-Entry
    Tech Info
    Track news
    State Champs
    Race Info
    NHRA Divisions
    Join NHRA
    LODRS Contng
    Summit Contng
    Jegs Super Quick
    Summit ET Series
   Youth Racing
   Chassis Inspector

William Tharpe, Director
PO Box 34300
Indianapolis, IN 46234
Ph: (317) 969-8890

Champions crowned at the North Central Division "Land of the Winners" awards banquet


The North Central Division "Land of the Winners" Awards Banquet was held this past Saturday night at the Wyndham Indianapolis West Hotel Convention Center in Indianapolis Indiana. Champions were crowned in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series , JEGS Super Quick Series, Summit Racing Equipment Jr. Drag Racing Series and the Summit Racing Equipment Bracket Racing Series. Along with the all the Division Champions 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Pro Stock Champion Bo Butner along with NHRA Racing RV's.com Top Dragster National Champion Lynn Ellison were in attendance. Both Champions addressed the 300 plus people that were at the ceremony.

During the Ceremony special awards were also given. New for this season and will continue for years to come was the Leo Taugher Memorial Award given to popular and long-time division starter Brad Beuschel. Brad in his always comedic fashion entertained the crowd with his entrance and speech. The Land of the Winners Person of the Year award was given to everyone's favorite stat guy Nitro Joe Jackson.

2017 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Champions

       Top Alcohol Dragster- Marty Thacker

       Top Alcohol Funny Car- Tony Bogolo

       Competition Eliminator- Troy Galbraith

       Super Comp- Phil Smida

       Super Gas- Devin Eisenhower

       Super Street- Phil Smida

       Super Stock- Aaron Allison

       Stock Eliminator- T. C. Morris

       Top Sportsman- Alex Bosak

       Top Dragster- JB Strassweg

2017 JEGS Super Quick Series Champion

       Mike Eggleston

2017 NHRA Summit Racing Equipment Bracket Racing Series Champions

       Super Pro-Carl Keil (Milan Dragway)

       Pro- Boyd Butcher (Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis)

       Sportsman- Johnnie Cook (Milan Dragway)

       Super Pro Motorcycle- Thomas Ewig (Rt. 66 Raceway)

2017 NHRA Summit Racing Equipment Jr. Drag Racing Series Division Champions

       6-9 age group - Julian Gaier

       10-12 age group - Skyler Bee

       13-17 age group Grace Rowe

Special Awards were also given to member tracks and racers. The results were from an online poll and was decided by fellow racers, tracks and fans.

       National Dragster Be a Winner be a Member- Coles County Dragway U.S.A.

       National Dragster Contributor of the year- Rod Viehland (Coles County Dragway U.S.A.)

       Division Member Track of the year- Crossroads Dragway- Terre Haute, Indiana

       Lucas Oil Series track of the year- Summit Motorsports Park- Norwalk, Ohio

       E.T. Bracket Driver of the year- Johnnie Cook (Milan Dragway- Milan, MI)

       Lucas Oil Sportsman mechanic of the year- Phil Smida Sr.

       Lucas Oil Sportsman Driver of the year- (Super Eliminators)- Phil Smida

       Lucas Oil Sportsman Driver of the year- Aaron Allison

       Lucas Oil Pro-Sportsman Mechanic of the year- Larry Hunsaker

       Lucas Oil Pro-Sportsman Driver of the year- Marty Thacker

Division 3 News Archives
Division 3 Latest News